Humphrey Lyttelton 1921-2008

Humphrey Lyttleton

Brian and I took the kids to see the stage show of I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue at the end of last month.  I’m so glad we did.  In these days of niche broadcasting and audience demographics, it was just great to see our girls crying with laughter at the wit of a man who was practically middle aged when their parents were born.  He will be sadly missed.

“…and now, as the hamster of time is sucked up the hoover attachment of destiny, I see that it’s the end of the show.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Humphrey Lyttelton 1921-2008

  1. Tim Footman says:

    I like to think his last words were: “You know all those things I said about Samantha? They were all about blowjobs, you know.”

  2. And I’m glad too that I got tickets to see him at last summer’s jazz festival.

    RIP the wonderful, inimitable Humph.

    😦

  3. IsarSteve says:

    Yes he will be sadly missed, especially by those of us who live elsewhere and who do occasionally need a dose…. …of british sarcasm and wit.

    I have to say though, it does irritate a bit when the German National Anthem is performed so badly..

    so please would you sing “my ole man said follow the van” to this tune:

  4. Marsha Klein says:

    Tim: Next you’ll be telling me that Mrs Trellis doesn’t exist!

    LH: It really feels like the end of an era. Jazz and longevity seem to go hand in hand, though. I saw Chris Barber a couple of years ago and he was really impressive. Although, at 78, I suppose he’s a comparative youngster.

    IsarSteve: You haven’t lived until you’ve heard Jeremy Hardy (during “one song to the tune of another”) deliver the line:

    “But I have a talent, a wonderful thing
    ‘Cause everyone listens when I start to sing…”!

Leave a Reply

