Merry Christmas, Mum

This one’s for my mum.  It’s one of her favourite Christmas songs and one of mine.  It also features the late, great Kirsty MacColl whose voice I love.

All together now…

“You scumbag, you maggot
You cheap lousy faggot
Happy Christmas your arse
I pray God it’s our last”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas, Mum

  1. ah now, this is my favourite christmas ditty (and it’s got a lower cheese content has it not?)

    loved kirsty maccoll (“there’s a guy works down the chip shop swears he’s elvis…just like you swore to me that you’d be true” – who writes lyrics like that these days, eh?)

  2. pleite says:

    I’d always told myself I loathe that McGowan person, and thought, therefore, that I hated this song, but it sounds lovely now that time has moulded a few more hate-melting years onto me. Happy Christmas to your mum from me too.

  3. marshaklein says:

    LH: Yeah, this is actually cheese-free. I also loved Kirsty MacColl and am pleased to say that my girls love her too.

    BiB: I tend to think of this song as being by Kirsty MacColl and some bloke – even although I know it’s officially by The Pogues “featuring”…

Leave a Reply

