It was twenty years ago today…

sergeant_pepper_cover.jpg 

…that Brian and I got married.  Here.  Very much before the DaVinci Code hype, obviously.  Hardly anyone outside of Midlothian had heard of Roslin then (Dolly wasn’t even a twinkle in her own eye!)

However, I digress.  The twentieth anniversary is “china”  but, while I’m not averse to ceramics (quite the reverse, actually) and, strictly speaking, we’ve already celebrated our twenty glorious years with our trip to Berlin, we’ve decided instead to mark the occasion with a trip to Glasgow to see Bill Bailey.

After all, if you’re going to spend twenty (plus) years with the same person, a sense of humour’s probably going to be more use than a dinner service.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It was twenty years ago today…

  1. pleite says:

    Cor blimey! Congrats. And honoured to have been part of the early celebrations. I haven’t thanked you nearly enough for the clever birthday card you made from a photo from that very trip. Enjoy Bill Bailey. I saw him 100 years ago playing in a pub in London. Naturally I can’t remember a thing about it, except that he had long hair, and may once have performed slaughtered. Is he good?

  2. marshaklein says:

    Thanks BiB! I’m sure we’ll enjoy Bill Bailey – he’s not just good (I’m sure Annie will back me up here) he’s God!

  3. Sylvia says:

    Congratulations on your 20 years, Marsha!

    It was our 20th anniversary in April. We went to the Dulwich Picture Gallery, had lunch, and then went to do the school run. I wanted to spend the day in bed listening to the radio, reading the paper, and eating toast, but for once he wanted to go out, so not a opportunity to me missed.

    We were almost arrested for getting in the way of a police car on an emergency call. Ooh those policemen gave us a hard stare. He thinks that they’re actually going to get their tea, so refuses to move when they want to get by. Very embarassing.

    So, 1987 – the year of the bow on the bum – did you have a dress like that? Happy days…..

  4. marshaklein says:

    Sylvia: I did, I did, and so did my two bridesmaids. Diana and “that dress” had a lot to answer for!

    Congratulations to you too. 20 years, eh? You’d get less time for murder!

  5. Sylvia says:

    That’s my line! How dare you, Marsha!

    Oh yes, it’s the china anniversary. I’ve still got all that china we got as a wedding present. I hate the stuff. I can’t wait until the girls set up home so I can divide it all up and hand it over…. Oh and the crystal! Can’t wait to get rid of it! When I think how much all that stuff cost – I have to go and lie down now…….

  6. marshaklein says:

    Oops! Sorry Sylvia! I knew I’d seen it somewhere.

  7. What an excellent choice of celebratory action! We love Bill Bailey — finally got to see him in Los Angeles for my birthday this year, which was a high point of the year for sure.

  8. marshaklein says:

    Valerie, it was a highly entertaining night. We both laughed til we cried.

Leave a Reply

