Stuff

As I may have mentioned before, my job is not as mentally stimulating as I might wish.  Don’t worry, though, this isn’t another “I hate my job” post.  No, sometimes, in between staring out of the window and surfing the net, I have filing to do and that involves using the date stamp.  Oh yes.

Now, for those of you who don’t spend their lives engaged in an endless round of administrative drudgery, a word or two about how it all works.  Everything that crosses my desk is stamped in (for ease of filing later).  As well as the date, there are spaces for the initials of the addressee, action, action date and job reference.  In practice, I usually only fill in the initials and the job reference, but that job reference could be a number or a word (just stop me if I’m getting too technical or you need to, you know, take a break).  Once the date-stamped correspondence has done the rounds and been scribbled on a bit more, I put it all in a pile until I can put it off no longer and I have to sort it out and file it. This is a straightforward process which involves making one big pile into lots of smaller ones before, finally, filing them.  A model of efficiency, I’m sure you’ll agree.

So I was a little confused recently when I picked up a letter which, apparently, was to be filed under “stuff”*.  Even by my, admittedly low, standards this seemed a little lax.  However, it provided me with a nicely meandering introduction to this post about some of the stuff I’ve been up to in the last couple of weeks.

1.  Went to the Festival Theatre to see the Carl Rosa company performing Gilbert and Sullivan’s “Patience”.  I love Gilbert’s lyrics and the whole thing was a trip down memory lane for me as it was the first thing I ever went to see in the “proper” theatre, with my dad, when I was seven.  Great fun.

2.  Saw the Andy Warhol exhibition at the Royal Scottish Academy.  I have to confess I didn’t know a great deal about Warhol’s work before this but really loved it nonetheless.  I couldn’t help wondering, looking at the paintings of Marilyn, Judy Garland and Jackie and JFK, if he wouldn’t have painted a Diana series if he’d lived.  Thought-provoking and very enjoyable.

3.  Went to see “The Singer” starring Gerard Depardieu.  This is the kind of film the French make so well; genuine, funny and touching without ever becoming overly sentimental, quite a feat considering its central character is a washed-up night club singer who is attracted to a much younger woman.  A lovely film.

Oh yes, and now I’m stuffed** with a cold I caught from Daisy (no. 1 daughter).

*  It was, of course, “staff”.

** Did you see what I did there?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stuff

  1. Mangonel says:

    Aha ha ha ha – but what’s the dilemma? I’ve seen you over at BiB’s gaffe. All you need is one great big file labelled STUFF and Bob’s your mother’s live-in lover.

  2. It really does help, when you’re bored to tears at work, to the point where you get very excited about filing things under ‘stuff’ (or, in my case, begin to dream in HTML formatting commands), to take a little stock of what you’ve been doing in your life that you actually care about.

    I think you’re right about Warhol painting Diana. I’d have liked to have seen that…

  3. Sylvia says:

    Didn’t someone warholise Diana anyway? I’m sure I’ve seen something like that.

    Yes Marsha, my life in admin and housewifery is dull to the extreme, so it’s essential to plan cultural events to balance things out.

    Think of me as I trudge off this evening to minute another church meeting……..Still, I could always say no and sit at home eating chocolate!

Leave a Reply

