Paranoid

Does anyone else’s blog make them paranoid?  For the best part of  a  month now I’ve been in the grips of  real love-hate feelings about this blog.  I’ve made up my mind several times recently that I’m giving up, only to start blogging or commenting the very next minute.  I’ve been doing all those things you just shouldn’t do, especially if you tend toward the paranoid at the best of times, like obsessing about stats, length/frequency of comments etc (fortunately I’m too technically incapable to check my stats properly.)  I’m also convinced, at least twice a day, that I’ve made a bad impression/pissed someone off or irritated someone somewhere in the blogosphere.  Add to this the fact that I tend to have a lot of time on my hands doing a job I hate, but would find difficult to leave for various boring reasons and you have the perfect recipe for blog-paranoia.

But, despite this, blogging has also been a life-line, especially recently, and I don’t think I could give it up.  I hope this post doesn’t come across as fishing for compliments (not that I’m averse…no, stop it!)  It’s just that, as I don’t know anyone in RL who blogs, I’ve no-one to discuss this with.  Most of my real life friends consider this to be such a bizarre waste of time pastime that I’m sure they’d have no hesitation in telling me to give it up.

But I can’t and I won’t.  So there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Paranoid

  1. oh my – this is TOTALLY NORMAL blogging behaviour

    no sooner do i think ‘yeh, thassit – i’m gonna jack it all in’ do i come up with a handful of ideas for posts

    and everyone has moments of paranoia like that: worrying about comments they’ve left elsewhere, worrying that there is some weird background vendetta going on about which they know nothing but which is leading to a decline in traffic/comments etc.

    i’m continually humming and hawing about what my blog is all about and whether i should develop some sort of ‘theme’

    it’s led to me think i’d be a hopeless real life journalist because i think my ego is too fragile to deal with it all – if a reader so much as emailed me to point out a grammatical error, i fancy i’d go to pieces

    hey ho! onwards and upwards!

  2. pleite says:

    I agree with Lettuce Hater. This is standard blogging emotion. Luckily, I get to meet other bloggers here every now and then, and one blog-reader, whom I must have expressed my ambivalence to, sent me this.

    But you mustn’t worry about offending. That’s unnecessary. It’s your blog, and you can say what you like. And even if you did accidentally piss someone off elsewhere in the sphere, which I’m sure is unlikely – you don’t go in for scandalous statements – I’m sure it would pass after ten seconds.

    So worry less and blog more! (Still can’t think of a limerick with Berlin in it.)

  3. All I can do is second what Lettuce Hater and BiB are saying… and, I obsess over my bloglines subscriber count, etc. and worry when I post and get no comments, etc. Plus, I have two blogs that are not linked together and I panic over posting from the wrong account, too.

    We like you. Keep blogging. You have a supportive audience, even if we are sometimes quiet.

  4. There was a young man from Berlin
    who sat on the head of a pin
    He said, “I’m just lucky
    I wasn’t a stuckee”
    and pitched it right into the bin.

    Okay, that sucks…

  5. Sylvia says:

    Oh do keep at it, please.
    Frankly I’m cheesed off with all those people who say that blogging is such a waste of time. What do they all spend their time doing? Splitting the atom? Finding a cure for the common cold?
    And as for offending people, well, good grief, of no interest whatsoever. It’s your blog, you write what you like.
    Keep up the good work!

  6. marshaklein says:

    Thanks for all the good wishes. Sorry to be such a misery.

    Valerie, that seems like a good limerick to me (what’s a stuckee?) Oh, and BiB, I can’t link in comments either but neither, it seems, can I edit comments!

  7. pleite says:

    You can edit comments when you’re logged in. ‘Edit comment’ should show up next to the comment. Stats and all that sort of thing are in your ‘dashboard’ which you can also click on when logged in.

  8. marshaklein says:

    Thanks for that BiB. I’d found the “edit comment” button before but couldn’t make the link work. I’ve just tried again and still no joy but I’m having lunch with a computer programmer today – perhaps he can tell me where I’m going wrong!

  9. marshaklein says:

    Oh well, apparently I was editing your comment correctly, BiB – I just didn’t realise that the HTML mark-up would translate itself into a nice little hyperlink when I hit “Edit comment”. D’Oh, I mean s’obvious really…!

  10. pleite says:

    See, it worked, it worked!

Leave a Reply

